• Danielle Rose

The Guest List: Book Review

By Danielle Rose


The Guest List by Lucy Foley

Purchase from Blue House Books


A wedding celebration turns dark and deadly in this deliciously wicked and atmospheric thriller reminiscent of Agatha Christie from the New York Times bestselling author of The Hunting Party.


Jules Keegan and Will Slater have it all: unmatched ambition, successful careers, fortune, and fame. Beloved by their friends, these two love birds met at a launch party and have soared steadfast into marriage. After six months of dating, they gather on a remote island off the coast of Ireland to celebrate their impending nuptials.


But as guests gather and the weather turns disastrous, secrets once buried are unearthed. The bride, the bridesmaid, the plus-one, the best man, the wedding planner—they all have a secret; they all have a motive. And someone won't leave this celebration alive.


A unique take on the "locked room style" mystery, The Guest List is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and "whodunit" murder mysteries. Avid thriller fans will also enjoy this fast-paced story, which is told in dual timelines and multiple points of view. Although this makes for an ambitious feat, the author excels with smart writing and intricately plotted character backstories.


While the bride and groom are the central characters of this story, readers are not confined solely to these individuals. Telling the story through multiple characters keeps readers on the edge of their seats, drawing them closer to the shocking secrets at the heart of this story. Alternating narrators can be clunky and confusing, but Foley handles it expertly.


A riveting story about how our deepest secrets release a ripple effect, causing untold damage to those we encounter, The Guest List is a binge-worthy read with a cleverly-constructed plot and plenty of juicy secrets for readers to uncover.

Danielle Rose

Danielle Rose is a USA Today bestselling author, a book reviewer, an occasional editor, and an always Oxford comma enthusiast. She graduated in 2012 with a Bachelor of Arts in English from UW-Parkside, and in 2014, she obtained a Master of Fine Arts in creative writing from the University of Southern Maine. Currently, Danielle resides in the Midwest, where she lives with her husband and their five rescue pets. When she is not writing, she is usually reading, renovating and decorating her historic Victorian manor, or sating her wanderlust. More about Danielle can be found at www.droseauthor.com.


44 views

©2019 by Blue House Books. Proudly created with Wix.com