It's Derry Girls meets Come From Away -- New Girl in Little Cove is a charming, heartfelt debut about a big city girl trying to fit into an impossibly small community, where they speak the same language (supposedly), but she'll need a crash course in the islanders' ways if she hopes to find enough common ground to establish a new life and new love.

 

After the local French teacher scandalizes the fishing village of Little Cove, Newfoundland, by running off with a priest, the school looks to the mainland to fill the job quickly. They want someone who can uphold their Catholic values and keep a motley group of largely unwilling students in line.

The position is filled by mainlander Rachel O?Brien?technically a Catholic (baptized!), technically a teacher (honors degree!)?who?s desperate to leave her current mess of a life behind. She isn?t surprised that her students don?t see the value of learning French. But she is surprised that she can barely understand their English? Is it a compliment or insult to be called a sleeveen? (Insult.) And the anonymous notes left on her car, telling her to go home, certainly don?t help to make her feel welcome.

Still, she is quickly drawn into the island?s traditional music and culture, and into the personal lives of her crusty but softhearted landlady, Lucille, her reluctant students and her fellow teacher Doug Bishop. But when her beliefs clash with church and community, she makes a decision that throws her career into jeopardy. In trying to help a student, has she gone too far?

Full of warmth, humor, romance and the quirkiest community of characters? Get ready to be charmed by this impossibly delightful debut, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

New Girl in Little Cove : A Novel

SKU: 9781525811500
$16.99Price
  • Available May 11, 2021

Store Hours:

Tuesday to Friday, 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturday & Sunday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Closed Mondays

©2019 by Blue House Books. Proudly created with Wix.com

Location & Contact Info:

5615 7th Ave, Kenosha, WI

262-236-5993

info@blue-house-books.com